Category: Uncategorised

Annual Club Competition DPI Results

Today we ran the DPI section of the Annual Clubs Competition at Culcheth High School Community Campus. The open section was scored first, and Warrington PS took the lead: After lunch, the nature section – this was won by South…

PAGB Award for Meritorious Service

At the PAGB Inter-Club Print Championship at Blackburn on Sunday 28th October. Phil and Gwen Charnock were both presented with APAGB award by Roger Parry, the PAGB Vice President. The Award for Meritorious Service was instituted in 1984 to recognise…

RPS Digital Imaging Group

The next DIG NW Centre meeting on the 13th. October and this time the speakers are Ann and Steve Toon and their talk will be about “Taking your wild life photography to the next level.   The meeting will be…

L&CPU Annual Individual’s Competition Results

Following a weekend of competition that saw the best photographers from across the region come together, we are pleased to announce the results from the L&CPU 2019 Annual Individual Competition. The standard of entry was, as usual, outstanding and it…

Morecambe Camera Club is ‘Taking Photography into the Community’

Players of People’s Postcode Lottery are helping Morecambe Camera Club with their project ‘Taking Photography into the Community’ Morecambe Camera Club, are a friendly group of people, with a range of photographic experience, who share skills and all have a…

Oldham Photographic Society 150th Anniversary Dinner

Mike Lawrence (centre) being presented with the Roll of Honour medal by L&CPU President, Garth Tighe with Gordon Jenkins, PAGB President (right).

Mike Lawrence (centre) being presented with the Roll of Honour medal by L&CPU President, Garth Tighe with Gordon Jenkins, PAGB President (right).

On Thursday 18th May, 37 members and friends attended a dinner to celebrate the society’s 150th anniversary, held at the Old Bill restaurant in Oldham. Special guests were Gordon Jenkins, President of the PAGB, accompanied by Dianne Owen, and Garth Tighe President of the L&CPU.

Annual Individual Competition Results!

Judges - 2017 Annual Individual Competition

Judges – 2017 Annual Individual Competition.  (l-r) Leo Rich, Duncan Hill, Jim Marsden – holding winning prints from Phil Barber and Terry Donnelly.


Last weekend, the L&CPU Annual Individual Competition was held at a school in Lowton. Winner of the top award of Photographer of the Year goes to Philip Barber MPAGB BPE5, and the L&CPU Exec congratulate him on his win.

Runners up were two relative unknowns – Adrian Lines MPAGB FBPE ARPS and Christine Widdall MPAGB EFIAP FBPE!

The competition was judged by Leo Rich APAGB, EFIAP/g, ARPS, Duncan Hill MPAGB, EFIAP and Jim Marsden FRPS, APAGB, EFIAP.

L&CPU Adopt New Standard Resolution


You are probably aware that the PAGB have taken a decision to adopt a new standard resolution of 1600pixel by 1200 pixel for images entered into competition from July 2017.

At a recent L&CPU, executive committee meeting it was decided that we should also adopt and phase in this new resolution beginning with the next Annual Club Competition in March 2017.

We will continue to accept the 1400 x1050 format in L&CPU Competitions, along with smaller image sizes.  However, we strongly suggest that you do not submit image sizes smaller than 1400 x 1050, as they will be significantly smaller when projected onto the screen.

This proposed move however does not mean your club need to upgrade your projector, as the increase in pixel size is only a requirement of entry into L&CPU & PAGB competitions.

Further reading on this subject can be seen in the PAGB e-news issues 161 extra April2016 and 169 August 2016.